# Ohio Chapter ISA Annual Meeting Minutes February 5, 2018

Crowne Plaza North, Columbus, OH

The meeting was called to order at 12:45 pm. 107 members and 10 quests were recorded as present.

#### **Opening Remarks**

President Ernie Brinker reviewed highlights of the Chapter's 75<sup>th</sup> anniversary year including tree planting and reception held at Chadwick Arboretum in October in honor of our founding father, Dr. Lewis C. Chadwick. He announced that a marketing committee was formed, and they have been generating monthly press releases to Ohio newspapers and created a membership brochure. President Brinker also announced that legislation is pending in the Ohio House of Representatives to create a specialty plate that would raise funds for Ohio research and education of both professionals and consumers on the benefits of trees and proper care.

President Brinker thanked OTCC sponsors and recognized the Chapter board, ISA liaisons and committee chairs.

### **Necrology**

James William Zampini passed away in 2017. He owned UpShoot in Madison and was a former CEO of Lake County Nursery. Mr. Zampini received honorary life membership from both the Chapter and ISA in 1994.

## <u>Awards</u>

The following awards were presented:

President's Award Dr. Richard Rathjens

Award of Achievement Ohio Tree City USA Communities

Special Citation Dr. Anand Persad

Honorary One Year Member Bill Smith, Lakeside Tree Advisory Committee

ISA Gold Leaf Ahlum & Arbor Tree Preservation

#### **TREE Fund**

Karen Lindell, Community Engagement Manager, reviewed their goals and outreach. She acknowledged the Ohio Chapter for their continued outstanding contributions to the TREE Fund.

## **Chapter Scholarships**

2016 scholarship recipients were recognized:

#### **Certified Arborist \$750 Scholarship**

- Diana Sette
- Josias (Sam) Baltodano
- Krista Harris
- David Villlarreal

#### Traditional Student \$1,000 Scholarship

- Mark Hoover
- Matthew Ulrey

#### **Professional Development \$500 Scholarship**

- Elizabeth Bossler
- Ryan Vogel

#### **Annual Report**

The 2017 annual meeting minutes and the annual report including a financial update were available at each table. There was a motion and a second to **accept the 2017 annual meeting minutes** as presented. **Motion carried.** 

Treasurer Thomas Munn provided the financial report noting that the Chapter remains in good standing and the annual tax returns are visible to all members on the Chapter's website as required by IRS for non-profit 501(c)3 organizations.

President Brinker provided an organizational update noting that 2017 continued to focus on building bridges with allied organizations. The Chapter participated in the Ohio High School Olympics and exhibited at both the TCIExpo and MGIX.

The 2018 Board of Directors were announced as Eric Davis (President), Tyler Stevenson (Vice President), Tom Munn (Treasurer); and Directors Virginia Bowman, Chad Clink, Kevin Jones, Sue Mottl, Steve Schneider, Mark Webber and Ernie Brinker (Past President).

Davis presented Brinker with the outgoing president's plaque, honorary life membership, and thanked him for his years of service.

#### Adjournment

No further business being heard, President Davis adjourned the meeting at 1:30 pm.

Dixie J. Russell, CAE, CMP Executive Director and Secretary